Obtaining a new drivers license in the state of Georgia is, in most cases, fairly straightforward. However, there are several requirements to be aware of when applying for one, especially if it is not your first license. This article will explain how to make the process as simple and straightforward as possible.
Items and documents you’ll need
Everyone applying for a new license in Georgia will need to meet the following requirements, regardless of other circumstances:
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Be a United States citizen and provide proof of such citizenship
- Have a valid SSN (social security number) and documentation providing it
- Have two forms of documentation proving Georgia residency
- Be able to pass a vision test
- Be able to pass a written test
- Be able to pass a driving test
Additionally, a $32 fee will be required for the license, which will then be valid for eight years.
New drivers under the age of 18
If you are under 18 years of age and applying for your first drivers license in Georgia, all of the above items are required, as well as participation in the TADRA (Teenage & Adult Driving Responsibly Act). This program is part of the GDL (Graduated Drivers License) program instituted at the state level to help ensure safe driving practices and reduce accidents for new drivers. The GDL consists of three stages, each of which are largely age-based:
- Instructional permit (15 years old)
- Intermediate license (16 years old if Drivers Ed. has been taken, 17 years old if not)
- Full License (18 years old)
The instructional permit allows for driving only when a fully-licensed driver at or over the age of 21 is present in the front passenger seat of the car. This permit basically exists for the purpose of driving experience for young teenagers before they get their licenses, and gives them a chance to drive safely before they have taken Drivers Ed. A written test is required to obtain this, as well as an initial road skills test proctored by the DMV. A $10 fee will also need to be paid.
The intermediate license allows for more freedom but still comes with restrictions, such as only being able to drive from the hours of 6:00 am to midnight. Additionally, for the first six months, only immediate family members are permitted as passengers. The following six months allow for one unrelated passenger under the age of 21. Beyond having the restricted license for one year, the allowed passengers increases to three.
When you turn 18 years old, you can apply to convert your provisional license into a full, unrestricted license as long as your provisional license has not been suspended or revoked. All of the required items listed in the beginning section of this article are applicable to this process.
All applied fees can be paid through any major credit or debit card to the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles. Checks and money orders are also accepted. Cash is accepted if paid in person.