Georgia Motorcycle Insurance
Motorcycle insurance is a necessary component to being able to drive safely on the road. Most lenders require it if you need a loan for your bike, and in case an unfortunate accident does occur, you’ll be covered, both for bodily injury and motorcycle damage.
Let’s take a look at the requirements for motorcycle insurance in Georgia.
Establish Financial Responsibility
Georgia law mandates that you effectively demonstrate “financial responsibility” with the motorcycle, which basically demonstrates that you are monetarily able to cover the costs associated with an accident that you are involved in.
The typical way that most people do this (unless you’re incredibly rich and have the money) is to obtain motorcycle insurance and show proof of it to the dealership selling it to you.
How Do I Demonstrate Financial Responsibility?
You can do so via one of these two ways:
- Buy full liability coverage from a licensed motorcycle insurance carrier.
- Acquire Self-insurance through the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner.
Note: This second option may not be a good option for most people. You can call (800) 656-2298 to see if it is an option, but most of the time, you’ll be opting for traditional liability coverage through an established insurance company.
Georgia Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
If you choose to purchase full coverage for liability insurance, be sure your policy includes at least the following parameters:
- $25,000/person for bodily injury
- $50,000/accident to cover bodily injury to two or more people
- $25,000/accident for property damage
While shopping around for quotes, you may want to consider adding additional full coverage options to make sure you have full blanket protection.
In Georgia, your insurance carrier reports the status of your coverage to a statewide database to ensure the state knows you’re meeting your requirements for financial responsibility. You can even monitor its status yourself.
Carry Proof of Insurance At All Times
While you’re riding, be sure to carry proof of insurance coverage.
- Insurance Card: This can be kept alongside your registration when your insurance company issues it to you.
- Insurance Binder: This is typically given to you after you first purchase the motorcycle, and it acts as proof of insurance within the first 30 days until the Motor Vehicle Department receives an electronic record of your coverage.
Bill of Sale and Declaration Page:
- Bill of Sale and Declaration Page: This can stand as proof of insurance if you’ve just bought the motorcycle, have contacted the insurance company, but have no way to prove it yet.
What Happens If I’m Caught Driving Without Insurance?
If you find yourself pulled over on your motorcycle without insurance coverage, the penalties are rather severe and include:
- A temporary registration suspension
- A lapse fee of $25 and a reinstatement fee that can total up to $160.
- Misdemeanor charges if you drive your motorcycle without paying the above-stated fees.
The safety risks of driving a motorcycle without insurance go beyond the financial penalties: you could be putting yourself or others at risk when driving without insurance, and if you get into an accident, you could be held financially responsible.