How to Obtain an Instructional Permit in Georgia
Before you are eligible to become a licensed driver in Georgia, you are required to first log hours driving under supervision. However, before you are allowed to get behind the wheel at all, you must obtain a permit. In Georgia, a learners permit is referred to as an instructional permit. The following is a step-by-step set of instructions to get you started on your journey of learning to drive.
The first of the requirements to apply for an instructional permit is to be no less than 15 years old. If you meet that requirement but are still under the age of 18, the next requirement is to be currently enrolled in school or already have a diploma or GED. Even after you receive your instructional permit, it can be taken from you if you ever drop out of school, have more than 10 unexcused absences, or have bad behavior that results in infractions from your school.
If you meet the requirements, the next step is to find out the location of your local Georgia Department of Driver Services office. Before you arrive, though, you will need to make sure you have the required documents in your possession. First, you must have a completed application form that is signed by either a guardian, a parent, or an authorized driving instructor. Next, you must have a certificate that shows you are currently enrolled in a school and it must be signed by an official at your school. Also, the certificate must have been signed within the last 30 days. If you already have a high school diploma or GED, bring proof of that instead.
Another item you must bring with you to the office is proof of your identification. This can either be your valid United States passport or a United States birth certificate. You will also need to bring a document that verifies your social security number. This can either be your social security card or a W-2 tax form that includes your full name and social security number. In order to prove you are a resident of Georgia, you must bring two documents that can include a school report card, a certificate of attendance, or a bank statement.
After you have shown all of the required documents to a staff member at the DDS office, you will have to pass two written tests. Each of the tests is comprised of 20 questions. You must choose the correct answers for no less than 15 of the questions on each test. The first test covers rules for the road. So, be sure to study the state’s traffic laws and what it takes to be a safe and responsible driver. The second test covers road signs. For this test, study all types of highway signs, traffic signals, and road markers. If you fail either test, you can take it again in one day. However, each time you take the test you will have to pay a $10 fee. Also, if English is not your primary language, you can take the road test in several different languages. However, the sign test is only available in English.
Once you have passed the two tests, a staff member will make sure your vision is good enough to drive. If you are approved after taking the vision exam, all that is left for you to do is to pay the $10 fee for an instructional permit. This payment can be made by cash, credit card, debit card, check, or money order. Finally, you will have your picture taken and be issued an instructional permit on the spot.